News Archives

Bears Lead All-time Series with Cardinals

December 21st, 2012 at 2:02 PM
By Steve Smith

'Chicago Bears' photo (c) 2011, Mike Morbeck - license:

The Arizona Cardinals will be meeting the Chicago Bears for the 89th time in their long series history Sunday afternoon in Glendale. The series goes all the way back to when the Red Birds were known as the Chicago Cardinals, oh so many years ago. The Monsters of the Midway lead the all-time series, 55-27-6 but the Cards won the last contest, 41-21 in the Windy City in 2009.

Kurt Warner (ah, the days when the Cardinals actually had a real quarterback) tossed five touchdown passes that November afternoon in Soldier Field, two to Larry Fitzgerald, to lead the Red Birds rout. Fitzgerald ended up with nine receptions for 123 yards while Tim Hightower paced the rushing attack with 77 yards on 15 carries.

Tight end Greg Olsen (now of the Carolina Panthers) scored all three touchdowns for Chicago (all pass receptions).

The last time the Bears played in Glendale was in 2006 – Chicago rallied from a 20-0 halftime deficit to post a thrilling 24-23 triumph on Monday Night Football. That was the game when Cardinals head coach Dennis Green had his infamous post-game tirade when he stated that the Bears "are who we thought they were and we let them off the hook."

It was to be Green's last season as head coach of Arizona. He was fired on Jan. 1, 2007 even though he had a year remaining on his contract at the time. He was replaced by current head coach Ken Whisenhunt.

Did you know?

Cardinals inside linebacker Daryl Washington has nine sacks so far this season (which leads the team). If he reaches 10 sacks, he'll become just the third inside linebacker to do that in the NFL since the 1984 season. 

 It waIt





Tags: Arizona, Arizona Cardinals, Daryl Washington, Dennis Green, Football, Kurt Warner, NFL

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: